Public Art Committee


Meeting minutes are available following approval.
View All Agendas and Minutes


  • Jessica Lauren Lipton, Chair
  • Anna Berke, Vice-Chair 
  • Nick Aceto
  • Ryan Adams
  • Phoebe Cole
  • Sharon Dennehy
  • Councilor April Fournier, City Council appointee
  • Lindsay Hancock, Creative Portland appointee
  • Julia Kirby
  • Kavya Seshachar, City Manager appointee
  • John Whipple
  • Sean King, Urban Designer, Staff to Committee

About the Committee

The Portland Public Art Committee is responsible for administering the Public Art Program to preserve, restore, and enhance the city-owned public art collection. The committee develops and presents to the City Council an Annual Art Plan that:
  • Recommends expenditures from the municipal percent-for-art allocation
  • Reviews potential gifts of art to the city’s collection according the Guidelines for the Public Art Ordinance
  • Seeks private donations to care for the public art collection
  • Recommends appropriate locations for the installation of permanent public art
For more information visit the Public Art Committee website.


There is currently one vacancy on the Public Art Committee.

Members are appointed to three-year terms. Members must live or work in Portland.

Experience with foundations and development or accomplishment as an artist is desirable. Experience, training, or expertise in one of the following disciplines is also desirable: architecture, landscape architecture, art curation, and commercial real estate or development.


Monthly committee meetings are open to the public and public comment is taken. Public comment related to Public Art Committee agenda items may also be submitted to: