To date, the City of Portland has designated twelve local historic districts. Many of these historic districts are also listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Following is a list of Portland's historic districts, with links to detailed information on each district. ​

​Within each district, every building is assigned a classification according to its "preservation value": Landmark, Contributing, or Non-contributing. Alterations or additions to Landmark or Contributing structures are subject to review under the preservation ordinance's Standards for Review of Alterations. Alterations to non-contributing structures are also subject to review, however the review standards are less rigurous. Non-contributing structures may be demolished as of right, but any replacement construction is subject to review and approval under the ordinance's Standards for Review of Construction. Finally, new construction on undeveloped parcels within the district is subject to review under the ordinance's Standards for Review of Construction. See links (in the left hand margin) for more information on the review standards and application requirements.

General Map of Portland's Historic Districts

Congress Street Historic District  


Deering Street Historic District  Link
Ft. McKinley Historic District (Diamond Cove)  Link
House Island Historic District  
How Houses Historic District  Link
India Street Historic District  Link
Munjoy Hill Historic District  Link
Portland Company Historic District  Link
Stroudwater Historic District  Link

Waterfront (Old Port) Historic District  Link

West End Historic District  Link
Westbrook College Historic District  Link
Return to Portland's Historic Preservation Page  Link