City Council 2021-2022

City council members

Kate Snyder, Mayor
Pious Ali, At-Large
April Fournier, At-Large
Roberto Rodriguez, At-Large
Anna Trevorrow, District 1
Victoria Pelletier, District 2
Tae Chong, District 3
Andrew Zarro, District 4
Mark Dion, District 5


  • Meetings are currently being held remote via Zoom.
  • START TIME: 5:00 PM
  • First and third Mondays of each month
  • City Council Chambers, 2nd floor of City Hall
    389 Congress Street
    Portland, ME 04101


Live-Stream Broadcasts. To participate remotely, Zoom instructions can be found in each agenda.

Portland residents are cordially invited to attend and address the council on matters of concern, in accordance with the City Council Rules of Procedure 4-11-22.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available the Wednesday preceding a Monday meeting. Minutes are available following approval.
View All Agendas and Minutes

​public comment

To submit written public comment on an agenda item, please send an email to Submissions must be received by 12:00 PM the day before the Council meeting to guarantee their inclusion in the agenda packet. All submissions must
include the commenter's name and legal address. To help ensure your comment is submitted for the correct item, please include the order number whenever possible.
  1. June 6, 2022 Portland City Council Recap

    Read the June 6, 2022 Portland City Council Recap. The next City Council meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 22 at 5:00 PM. To view agendas, backup materials, and videos from past meetings, please visit Read on...
  2. Mayor & Council to Select New Portland City Clerk

    Mayor Kate Snyder and the City Council are set to act on an item during the Monday, June 6 Council meeting to confirm the appointment of a new City Clerk. Read on...
  3. City Announces Food Truck Pilot Program Solution

    Interim City Manager Danielle West today announced that all 14 food trucks that applied to operate in the City’s pilot program will be able to locate in the Cutter Street lot on the Eastern Promenade. Read on...
View All

About the City Council

The City of Portland operates under a Council-Manager form of government with a nine-member City Council, comprised of a popularly elected mayor, five district councilors and three at-large members. The mayor is elected by a majority of voters through ranked choice voting and serves a four-year term. The city’s five voting districts each elect one council member to represent their district and three at-large members are elected citywide. The eight councilors serve three-year staggered terms.

The City Charter grants to the City Council all powers to enact, amend, or repeal rules, ordinances, and resolutions relating to the city’s property, affairs and government, to preserve the public peace, health and safety, to establish personnel policies, and giving effect to any vote of the city and to authorize the issuance of debt. The council adopts an annual budget for both municipal and school operations and provides for an annual audit. The council appoints the city manager, corporation counsel, and city clerk.

The mayor serves as the official head of the city. The mayor provides community leadership and develops policies to guide the city by setting strategic goals and priorities for the city with the council. The mayor provides guidance to the city manager for preparation of city budgets and capital improvement plans and has veto authority over the municipal budget, which is subject to council override by a vote of at least six members. The mayor appoints council standing committees, serves as chair of the council, and directs the agenda for council meetings.

The city manager oversees the day-to-day operations of the city, serves as the administrative head of the city and is responsible to the council for the administration and management of all departments. The city manager in consultation with the mayor prepares the annual budget and presents it to the council for approval.